night observation

 

Homeless woman in a yellow sweater
walks into the lit coffee shop
she asks for a cup of water.
then stands at the napkin dispenser
takes a handful out
she looks around, to see if anyone’s watching
god, she could take the entire box
and no one would say a word
I’m the only one that’s watching her
when she turns to me and says
“Excuse me,”
she’s about to ask for money
but no,
she just wanted a straw
her voice sounds so normal.
I wonder where she’s going to sleep tonight
but I don’t give it much thought.

Leave a Reply

