{my darkest passenger}

let go of the darkness

i will

i embraced him
the only one i ever honored

my loved one, holding me tight
swallowed in his arms
swallowed

the shadows
the corners of my mind
and all of those spaces in between
unlit,
abandoned streets
where only thieves come out to slaughter the innocent lambs.

i held on tight
i embraced him
i loved him
or i reveled in him

a cleansing of shadows
or an infection of light
for once, i might admit, i need to let go
of this disease of my mind
these awful patterns of my thoughts

but in my dark embrace
my eyes shut, caging tears
my arms wrapped tight about this loved one

i must regretfully…
hold on tighter
to never let go.

Leave a Reply

