Let’s try this again

Let’s face the facts
when I walk into a crowded room
and turn my back on the door
I keep my eyes to the floor
I head straight to corner
’cause?
’cause that’s where I belong.

Under the shade of a shadowed tree
when I hide outside in the green grass
amongst the bristling of the bush’s leaves
and there I could remain
for how long?
I’ve lost count.

I’ve walked the straight and narrow before
and I’ll follow that path again
when the time comes
pick kick strip myself up off the dirty ground
stumble back to the place where I belong
which remains to be better
than the place I was before.

How does that sound?
we’re trying, I’ll say, at least
there’s a hope in a light rising
from the darkest of the longest
of night.

Leave a Reply

